Screen Shot 2019-03-30 at 19.43.47.png

The Cikada Ensemble was founded in Oslo in 1989, and has from the very outset consisted of flute, clarinet, piano, percussion, string quintet and conductor Christian Eggen.

As permanent members, the ten Cikadas have created a strong ensemble identity as well as developed their highly acclaimed profile on the international contemporary music scene. Audiences and press often talk about ‘the Oslo sound’ of the ensemble – a sound synonymous with a fresh, vibrant, warm and virtuosic interpretation of a consciously selected, contemporary repertoire.

The Cikada musicians also form three formations within the group: The Cikada String Quartet, the Cikada Trio (flute, clarinet, piano) and the Cikada Duo (piano, percussion) work as independent units, adding to the ensemble’s dynamic and diverse identity.

Though the Cikada Ensemble, in their own words “play music!” they are no alien to mixed media concerts when the programming demands it. In fact the ensemble also likes a theatrical element in their concerts, an element that can be achieved both through cross collaborations – and through improvisation.

Anne Karine Hauge, flute
Rolf Borch, clarinet
Kenneth Karlsson, piano
Bjørn Rabben, percussion
Sara Övinge, violin
Odd Hannisdal, violin
Bendik Foss, viola
Torun Stavseng, violoncello
Ulrikke Henninen, violoncello
Magnus Söderberg, double bass

Christian Eggen, conductor

Official Website of Cikada